The content of this site is © Phoenix Pub Poker

Monday evenings at The Avenue Bridge Club, 
Third Avenue, Hove, Brighton & Hove 19:45hrs Phoenix Pub Poker

Fantastic Texas Hold’em poker tournaments for

just £13 an evening

Poets' Corner league

Summer 2012








Lee Millward

Louis Iceman Mockett

Matt Mr Luck Jones

Rob Donald

Rob The Hitman Scott

Ken George

Jonno Vulture Cook

Kemble Nagan

James Winfield

Grant Queen Lean

Richard McGregor

Andy Minja Clements

Nathan Rarely Foulds

Paul Margo

Jamie 9 Lives Cleaver

Tony Barnsley Simmonds

Andy Lamb


Sam The Claw Clements

John Bown

Dan ZT Papworth

Barry Rebuy Freeman

Sam Oversock Beaumont

Deano Wales

Simon Sockman Beaumont

Russ Houdini Cochran

Raquel Margo

Trevor Wingate


Peter The Coach Woodcock

Ryan Baird

Sue Read


Darren Spurs Lad Read


Matt Gurr


Luke Tugwell

Grand Total

Newly wed Lee Millward was crowned Poet laureate with two wins in the season, one of which in bonus points week when playing his joker.

The league’s lead changed places frequently throughout the season, with an early lead taken by Rob Scott with victories in week one and two. Consistency didn’t hold. A fight back by the Iceman, Louis Mockett, put him in a commanding position by week five. But then Lee slipped into gear and finished well , even though he bust first in the 22 player final game of the season.

Top assassin was Rob Scott, who also won two tournaments.

Previous winners of this coveted trophy are listed on our Wall of Fame here.

The pie chart above indicates the strength of Lee’s games at the Poets’ Corner this season. It measures the quartile finish in each tournament. In a sixteen player event, a player finishing in the top four would be in Quartile 1, fifth to eighth Quartile 2, ninth to twelfth in Quartile 3 and thirteenth to sixteenth in Quartile 4.

Overall league

Summer 2012

Harbour View Summer 2012

Mile Oak Inn

Summer 2012

Royal George

Summer 2012

Poets’ Corner Summer 2012

Other historic leagues



Assassins Summer 2012

For an ‘at a glance’ list of our league and other title winners please go to our Wall of Fame